## **STAFF REPORT**



**Date:** January 18, 2017

To: Mayor & City Council

From: MJ Lamon, Project Coordinator

**Subject:** Board and Commission Reappointment Requests

## **Information / Background:**

Term expiration notices were sent to all individuals with terms expiring March 1, 2017.

The following individuals have expressed a willingness to be reappointed to their respective board, commission or committee. The appointments will all be for three year terms until 3/1/2020, except the Board of Appeal and Equalization terms will be one year until 3/1/18. All of the respondents are eligible for reappointment with respect to term limits and attendance requirements.

Arts and Culture Commission	Energy & Environment	Park Board
Stella Chaffee	Commission	Greg Good
	William Glahn	Brenda McCormick
<b>Board of Appeal &amp; Equalization</b>	Michelle Horan	Trevor Mohs
Roger McVeety	Louann Waddick	Julie Strother
Ed Cracraft		
Scott Smith	Heritage Preservation	
Community Health Commission Amanda Herr	<b>Board</b> Sarah Nymo	<b>Planning Commission</b> Steve Hobbs Susan Lee
Alison Pence	Human Rights and	Johann Olsen
Construction Board of Appeals Douglas Hall Kip Peterson	Relations Commission Heather Edelson Ellen Kennedy	Transportation Commission Larry Olson

STAFF REPORT Page 2

After making the above reappointments, nineteen vacancies will exist on the various boards and commissions. There are two seats (Arts and Culture Commission and Heritage Preservation Board) that has a recommended term limit change. The term limit changes will assist in re-staggering the seats to ensure that only 3 seats on an individual Board or Commission will expire the same year.

<b>Board or Commission</b>	Person Leaving	Reason	Term
Arts & Culture	Anne Miller	Declined Reappointment	3/1/17
Arts & Culture	Barbara La Valleur	Term Limit	Term Date = 3/1/17  Seat proposed to expire 3/1/19.
Arts & Culture	Dana Lappin	Resigned	3/1/18
Board of Appeal & Equalization	Ron Anderson	Term Limit	3/1/17
Board of Appeal & Equalization	Alex Slichter	Declined Reappointment	3/1/17
Community Health Commission	Cathy Cozad	Resigned	3/1/19
Community Health Commission	Steve Sarles	Attendance	3/1/17
Community Health Commission	Kristen Conner	Attendance	3/1/18
Energy and Environment	Sanat Mohanty	Resigned	3/1/17
Heritage Preservation Board	Bruce Mc Lellan	Declined Reappointment	3/1/17
Heritage Preservation Board	Peter Sussman	Attendance	3/1/18
Heritage Preservation Board	Karen Kelly	Attendance	3/1/19
Heritage Preservation Board	Colleen Pearson	Attendance	3/1/18
			Seat proposed to expire 3/1/20.
Human Rights & Relations	Maggie Vecchio- Smith	Declined Reappointment	3/1/17
Human Rights & Relations	Kristina Martin	Attendance	3/1/19

STAFF REPORT Page 3

Transportation Commission	Emily Boettge	Declined Reappointment	3/1/17
Transportation Commission	Jennifer Janovy	Term Limit	3/1/17
Transportation Commission	Katherine Bass	Term Limit	3/1/17
Transportation Commission	Ralf Loeffelholz	Attendance	3/1/18

We will be accepting applications until midnight on January 31, 2017.

Interviews will be held at City Hall, 4801 West 50<sup>th</sup> Street in the Mayor's Conference Room. Interviews are scheduled for:

- 1. Monday, January 30, 5:30 pm
- 2. Wednesday, February 8, 5:30 pm
- 3. Thursday, February 9, 5:30 pm

Appointments will be sent to the City Council meeting on Wednesday, February 22 for Council approval.

New members will be asked to attend Board and Commission Orientation held on Monday, February 27, 2016 at 6:30pm. Orientation will be held at Edina City Hall in the Community Room.

STAFF REPORT Page 4